AAA's Latest Data on Teen Driving: A Scary Reminder for Other Drivers
AAA's Foundation for Traffic Safety conducted a serious video analysis of car accidents
involving teen drivers.
The study found
that distracted driving was a factor in six out of 10 moderate or serious accidents. This is significantly higher than the official estimates provided by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, which are gleaned from police reports. NHTSA found that distracted driving was a factor in 14 percent
of accidents involving teen car accidents.
AAA instead had its researchers comb over 1,700 videos of crashes involving teen drivers and looked at what was happening in the car the six seconds prior to the accident occurring. These videos were taken by recorders in the cars. It was found that in 58 percent of the crashes, the teen drivers were distracted in those last six seconds prior to impact. This includes the almost 90 percent of accidents that involved the car driving off the road and 76 percent of rear-end accidents.
As expected, technology plays a huge factor into what is distracting the teens prior to an accident. The video analysis found that 12 percent of teen drivers were using their cell phones prior to the accident and 15 percent were distracted by other passengers in the vehicle. Texting and calling occurred an average of 4.1 seconds prior to crash impact. Statistics like these serve to bolster legislation and state laws that restrict the number of passengers a teen driver may have in the car and cell phone use while driving.
Illinois has the graduated driver license program
which creates a tiered approach to driving privileges: fewer restrictions apply as the teen gets older. Under the current law, cell phone use while driving (and this includes hands-free devices) is prohibited for Illinois drivers under the age of 19. Texting while driving is also prohibited. Permit phase drivers (those 15 years old) may only have one passenger in the front, and backseat passengers cannot exceed the number of seat belts.
During the initial licensing phase (16 – 17 years old), there can only be one other passenger under the age of 20 in the car, not including family. After having one's license for 12 months, this number increases to one passenger in the front and passengers up to the number of seat belts in the back. Passenger restrictions are removed once the teen moves into the full licensing phase (often between the age of 18 and 20).
Have You Been Injured in a Wreck?
The dangers young drivers pose on the roads is often beyond the control of other drivers. However, avoiding distractions and remaining vigilant is one such way you can keep safe. If you if you or a loved one was a pedestrian injured or killed in a traffic accident, please contact an experienced DuPage County car accident attorney
. We at Mevorah Law, LLC can analyze the facts and help you receive the maximum amount of recovery for your injuries, pain and suffering, and medical costs. Please contact us today if you need help.